2016 - The Hidden Gem
Holy Eucharist Ukrainian Catholic Parish
Located at 505 Watt Street
The original Holy Eucharist Ukrainian Catholic Parish was built in 1919. It was the third Ukrainian Catholic church built in Winnipeg. In the 1940s, East Kildonan was growing. The small church wasn’t large enough to house the ever growing congregation.
The new building was constructed in 1954, six blocks north of the original location. Today the Church is well known for its perogy suppers.
It is home to the Millennium Senior’s Centre, and the council #11330 of the Knights of Columbus.
The Holy Eucharist Ukrainian Catholic Parish had 168 visitors in one day over the weekend of Doors Open. The visitors to their site received a taste of the church’s famous perogies.