26 Edmonton Street
May 27, 2017 & May 28, 2017Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pmSunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Located at 26 Edmonton Street, the J.W. Harris house was built in 1902 in Winnipeg’s first suburb now known as downtown. Civil engineer and surveyor Harris arrived in Winnipeg by steamboat in 1873 and witnessed its growth from a settlement of 2,000 residents into a city of 125,000 inhabitants by the time he retired in 1916. The house retains original charm and character with an offset front entrance opening to an inviting panelled reception hall. Oak woodwork and leaded stained glass windows quietly reflect the career of Harris. The parlor opens to the dining room that contains intricate fretwork and a glass-roofed solarium. This cozy Queen Anne style home showcases technology such as indoor plumbing and central gravity heating in addition to two storey sleeping porches. The building later served as a rooming house for over 50 years and hundreds of Winnipeg citizens have resided here. It was rescued from the wrecking ball and since 1977 has been the offices of another civil engineer, William Hanuschak.